The Rob Arra Collection: Your official source for Panoramic Sports Posters
Ask Rob         Welcome To The Official Site Of The Rob Arra Collection!         View Cart

Chicago White Sox

Chicago White Sox Logo Chicago White Sox -88 Years and Worth the Wait
"88 Years and Worth the Wait"
with Signatures

Quick Facts:

  • Founded: 1893 (as the Sioux City Cornhuskers); 1904 named White Sox.
  • Stadium: US CellularField (once Comiskey Park)
  • General Manager: Ken Williams
  • Manager: Ozzie Guillen
  • Formerly Known As: Sioux City Cornhuskers (1893-1894), St. Paul Saints (1894-1900), White Stockings (1900-1903)
  • Motto: Win. Or Die Trying
  • World Series Titles: 1906, 1917, 2005
  • WL Pennant: 1894
  • AL Pennants: 1900, 1901, 1906, 1917, 1919, 1959, 2005

More Panoramics:

2005 World Series
World Champions 2005
"World Champions 2005"
with Signatures
Opening Ceremonies 2005
"Opening Ceremonies 2005"
Top of the Fifth
"Top of the Fifth"

About the White Sox


In a year that would see a life-size bronze statue of legendary player Carlton Fisk placed in US Cellular Field (the new Comiskey Park), the 2005 Chicago White Sox become a legend in their own right.

With a motto of "Win or die trying!" former shortstop, now manager Ozzie Guillen brought "Ozzieball" to Chicago, instilling leadership, discipline, and a desire to win. In just two years, "Ozzieball" reaulted in division, league, and a World Series victory for the White Sox.

Overpowering the defending World Series Champion Red Sox in a three-game sweep for the ALDS title, the White Sox faced the Los Angeles Angels for the ALCS, winning a League Pennant for the first time since 1959.

The Houston Astros faced the White Sox for the 2005 World Series, with the fearsome Roger Clemens as starting pitcher for Game 1 of the Series. Rob Arra was at US Cellular Field for Game 1 and captured the moment in Opening Ceremonies 2005.

The Series moved to Houston for Game 3, and the White Sox remained victorious in a grueling 14 Inning match-up. Leading the Series 3-0, Game 4 was a make-or-break opportunity for the Houston Astros, who sent pitcher Brandon Backe to face Chicago's Freddy Garcia.

Right fielder Jermaine Dye broke a scoreless tie in the eighth by singling to center off of Houston's Brad Lidge, the embattled Astros closer. Game 4 also saw a spectacular defensive play by Juan Uribe, as the Chicago shortstop fell two rows into the stands in order to retire Chris Burke for the second out in the bottom of the ninth. Uribe also made the final out of the Series on the next play, when he threw Orlando Palmeiro out at first, to give the White Sox their first World Series crown since 1917.

< The Rob Arra crew was in Houston for that memorable night, and preserved the moment in Un-Four-Gettable. Our World Champions 2005 with signatures, includes an inset photograph showing the team mobbing the mound as the White Sox win the Series.